Lumiere Awards

The Lumiere™ Award

The Lumiere™ Awards recognize outstanding international achievement in the creation of immersive storytelling using advanced visual technologies like Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality, High Dynamic Range, Stereo 3D, 360 Video, High Frame Rate, Artificial Intelligence, Real-Time Rendering and more.

The Society honors content and experiences produced for film, television, advertising, gaming, mobile, online and much more. Past Lumiere winners include some of Hollywood’s biggest creative leaders, such as Martin Scorsese, Ang Lee, Victoria Alonso, Jon Favreau, Jeffrey Katzenberg and Christopher McQuarrie.

Award winners will be recognized at the 13th Annual Lumiere Awards celebration on February 10th, 2023 at 12pm at the Crystal Ballroom of The Beverly Hills Hotel.

The complete list of 2022 honorees:

Best Documentary:

The Beatles: Get Back (Disney+)
Best Audio – Episodic:WandaVision (Disney+)
Best Use of AR:Expo Dubai Xplorer
Best Use of VR:Machu Picchu and the Spirit of the Condor
Best Original Song:Encanto/We Don’t Talk About Bruno (Disney Animation)
Governor’s Cinema Award:Spider-Man: No Way Home (Sony / Marvel)
Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Live Action:Dune (Warner Bros.)
Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Episodic:Foundation (Apple TV+)
Best 2D to 3D Conversion:Shang Chi: The Legend of the Ten Rings (Disney)
Best Musical Scene or Sequence:West Side Story, “The Dance at the Gym” (20th Century Studios)
Best Episodic – Animated: Arcane (Netflix)
Best Motion Picture – Musical: West Side Story (20th Century Studios)
Sir Charles Wheatstone Award: Epic Games’ Unreal Engine
Best Episodic – Live Action: Squid Game (Netflix)
Best Feature Film – Animated: Encanto (Disney)
Voices For The Earth Award: Adam McKay, Don’t Look Up
Gene Kelly Visionary Award: Guillermo del Toro
Best Audio – Theatrical: Nightmare Alley (Searchlight)
Harold Lloyd Award: Denis Villeneuve
Best Feature Film – Live Action: Dune (Warner Bros.)
Best Scene or Sequence in a Feature Film: No Time To Die (MGM/UA Releasing)

About the AIS Lumiere Award Statuette

Lumiere Award StatuetteMade for the Society by the R.S. Owens Company of Chicago, (who also manufacture the Oscar for the Academy Awards), The Lumiere Statuette depicts the Roman goddess of dawn, Aurora, lifting her head to greet the morning light. She is made of bronze and covered with gold and is seen in the company of Oscars, Emmys, Golden Lions and BAFTA Awards in display cabinets around the world. These statuettes are presented as the pinnacle of entertainment arts and technologies by our chapters in China, Japan, and Europe.